Hero image for Students work in groups in an English class.
Students work in groups in an English class.
pattern placeholder

English

If you have a passion for literature and writing, and want to learn how to communicate, persuade and understand human nature at a higher level, consider English as your major. Chaffey College offers an Associate of Arts for Transfer degree in English, which will allow you to transfer to schools in the California State University system and other 4-year universities. English is necessary for success in most careers, particularly those in education, writing, business, journalism and law.

Courses

Preparatory Composition Courses

675 Preparation for College Reading and Writing
Not Degree Applicable.
Introduces the inexperienced reader and writer to a variety of pre-college and college-level texts and writing situations. Prepares students for the thinking, reading and writing skills necessary to succeed at the college level. Ten hours of supplemental learning in a success center that supports this course are required. Upon successful completion of the course, student may re-assess for possible placement into the credit curriculum. May be taken three times.

Composition Courses

495 College Reading and Writing (4 units). Class hours: 4 lecture.
AA/AS Degree Applicable.
Prerequisite: ENGL 675 or eligibility for English 495 as determined by the Chaffey placement process
Careful study and practice of critical thinking, reading, and expository writing techniques, using primarily nonfiction texts, and the frequent writing of compositions with the ultimate goal of writing essays using sources. Emphasizes study skills and prepares the student for English 1A and a variety of academic disciplines. Five hours of supplemental learning in a success center that supports this course are required

1A Composition (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Prerequisite: ENGL 475 or ESL 475 or eligibility for ENGL 1A as determined by the Chaffey placement process
Careful study and practice of expository and argumentative writing techniques and the frequent writing of compositions with the ultimate goal of a research project. A minimum of 6,000 written words is expected over the course of the term. Three arranged hours of supplemental learning in a Success Center that supports this course is required. Designed to prepare the student for satisfactory college writing. May be offered as an honors course.

1B Advanced Composition and Critical Thinking (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Prerequisite: ENGL 1A
Using primarily non-fiction reading models, students emulate and incorporate various rhetorical strategies in the development of written analysis and researched argumentation. Focus on logical analysis (e.g., inductive and deductive reasoning) and effective reasoning, establishing credibility, and emotional appeals to develop persuasive arguments. Course is writing intensive with a minimum production requirement of 6,000 words. May be offered as an honors course.

Creative Writing Courses

7A Creative Writing: Short Fiction (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Prerequisite: ENGL 495 or ESL 475 or eligibility for ENGL 1A as determined by the Chaffey placement process
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Seminar in short fiction writing. Students study the underlying principles of this form of literature, write short stories and analyze each other’s work.

7B Creative Writing: Fiction (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Prerequisite: ENGL 495 or ESL 475 or eligibility for ENGL 1A as determined by the Chaffey placement process
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Seminar in fiction writing. Students study the underlying principles of this form of literature and write short stories. Students study the underlying principles of this form of literature, write short stories or several chapters of a novel, analyze and critique each other’s work, edit/revise/rewrite to ready for publication and research potential markets for submission.

7D Creative Writing: Poetry (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture
Prerequisite: ENGL 495 or ESL 475 or eligibility for ENGL 1A as determined by the Chaffey placement process.
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Writing seminar focusing on analysis of methods, forms, and meanings of poetry with emphasis on the elements of figurative language, sound, rhythm and tone. Students develop critical standards for judging the worth of a poem, give their critical estimates of professional and student work, and write their own poetry.

7E Creative Writing: Nonfiction (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Prerequisite: ENGL 1A
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Course in creative nonfiction writing. Review of the principles employed in writing creative nonfiction such as memoirs, personal essays, review, profiles, nature articles and reportage. Students create essays, analyze and respond to student and professional writing, craft works intended for publication, and research potential markets for submission.

Introductory Courses in Literary Genres

1C Introduction to Literature (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Prerequisite: ENGL 1A
This course introduces representative works from major genres, develops students’ close reading and analytical writing skills, and promotes appreciation and critical understanding of the cultural, historical and aesthetic qualities of literature. Introduces the central literary genres: novel, short story, poem and play. Close reading of the literature guides inexperienced readers toward greater understanding and appreciation of imaginative literature, and provides more experienced readers with new perspectives through the analysis of the techniques and purposes of specific writers. Students are taught how to organize and compose the literary essay. May be offered as an Honors course.

32 Introduction to the Novel (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Recommended preparation: ENGL 1A
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Survey of the novel, using selections drawn from multiple cultures and influences of the last three centuries, including translated novels of established merit.

33 Introduction to Poetry (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Recommended preparation: ENGL 1A
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Survey of poetry written in English from the Middle Ages through the present day. Increases students' knowledge of poetry and its history and acquaints them with techniques of analysis. Special attention is given to poetic voice, syntax, figures of speech, sonics and form. NOTE: English 33 is not a creative writing course for poetry.

Literature Survey Courses

74 Asian-American Literature (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Prerequisite: ENGL 495 or ESL 475 or eligibility for ENGL 1A as determined by the Chaffey placement process
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Introductory analysis of Asian-American literatures. Investigation of literary modes including drama, poetry, essays, short stories, and the novel. Identification and analysis of recurrent themes, gender portrayals, writing styles, and topics associated with Asian-American authors. Evaluation of the social, cultural and political influence of Asian-American writers on the United States, as well as the impact of the dominant U.S. society in Asian-American writing during the 20th century.

75A American Literature (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Prerequisite: ENGL 1A
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Chronological survey of significant authors and texts of American literature from its beginnings in the colonial period to the 1860s. Extensive reading and discussion of works reflecting the diversity of the United States. Examination of the relationship between historical events and literary works. Strong writing component with emphasis on textual analysis.

75B American Literature (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Prerequisite: ENGL 1A
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Chronological survey of significant authors and texts of American literature from the 1860s to the present. Extensive reading and discussion of works reflecting the diversity of the United States. Examination of the relationship between historical events and literary works. Strong writing component with emphasis on textual analysis.

76 African-American Literature (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Recommended preparation: ENGL 1A
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Introductory analysis of African-American literatures. Investigation of literary modes including drama, poetry, essays, short stories, and the novel. Identification and analysis of recurrent themes, gender portrayals, writing styles, and topics associated with African-American authors. Evaluation of the social, cultural, and political influence of African-American writers on the United States, as well as the impact of the dominant U.S. society in African-American writing during the 20th century.

77 Latino Literature (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Recommended preparation: ENGL 1A
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Introductory analysis of Latino literature written in English. Investigation of literary modes including drama, poetry, essays, short stories and the novel. Identification and analysis of recurring themes, gender portrayals, writing styles and topics associated with Latino writers. Evaluation of the social, cultural and political influence of Latino writers on the United States, as well as the impact of the dominant U.S. society in Latino writing during the 20th and into the 21st centuries.

79 Native American Literatures (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Recommended preparation: ENGL 1A
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Introductory analysis of the literary, social, and cultural aspects of novels, short stories, essays, and poetry reflecting Native American societies. Contributions of Native Americans to literature and how they use the various literary forms to express their worldviews and cultures. Relationship to western culture, including cultural norms and the changing view of the Native Americans of yesteryear and today.

80A Survey of British Literature (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Prerequisite: ENGL 1A
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Chronological survey of major authors and texts of British literature from the Old English to the Neoclassic period (up to the last quarter of the 18th century). Extensive reading and discussion of works. Examination of the relationship between historical events and literary works. Strong writing component with emphasis on textual analysis.

80B Survey of British Literature (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Prerequisite: ENGL 1A
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Chronological survey of major authors and texts of British literature from the late 18th century to the present. Includes contemporary British and post-colonial texts. Extensive reading and discussion of works. Examination of the relationship between historical events and literary works. Strong writing component with emphasis on textual analysis.

81 Shakespeare (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Recommended preparation: ENGL 1A and ENGL 80A
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Intensive reading, along with oral and written discussion, of a selected group of Shakespearean plays.

Other Courses

35 Literary Magazine Production (4 units: 3 hours lecture, 1 hour laboratory)
Prerequisite: ENGL 495 or ESL 475 or eligibility for ENGL 1A as determined by the Chaffey placement process
Concepts and practices of magazine production, including the design and maintenance of a web version. Acting as editors and assistants for The Chaffey Review, students master the fundamentals of editorial evaluation and selection, copyediting, proofreading, layout and design, production, promotion and distribution.

61ABC Newspaper Production (1, 2, or 3 units: 3, 6, or 9 hours laboratory)
Experience in planning, editing and producing a weekly or bi-weekly newspaper. Students cover campus and community events, write news and feature stories, editorials, reviews and headlines. They edit copy using the departments' computer for typesetting, typeset copy, take, print, and edit photos, paste up page flats or printing and distribute finished paper on campus. Regardless of the unit combination; May be taken four times.

68 Mythology (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Prerequisite: ENGL 495 or ESL 475 or eligibility for ENGL 1A as determined by the Chaffey placement process
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Major myths, especially in relation to the culture in which they arose, with a special emphasis on Greek myths. Broad comparison of the myths of many cultures and their influence on subsequent literature.

71 Folklore (3 units). Class hours: 3 lecture.
Prerequisite: ENGL 1A
Transfer Credit: CSU; UC.
Introduction to Folklore and analysis of its various forms: myths, legends, fairy tales, fables, epics and tall tales. Course consists of close reading of selected works and discussion of criteria for assessing the literary value of these stories and determining their significance as the primary source of themes, motifs, metaphors and allusions that are encountered throughout literature.

  

Contact

Full-time Faculty

Sharon Alton
Office: LA-122
909-652-6914
sharon.alton@chaffey.edu

 

Jonathan Ausubel, Ph.D.
Office: BEB-212
(909) 652-6937
jonathan.ausubel@chaffey.edu

 

Stephen Calebotta
Office: BEB-216
(909) 652-6942
stephen.calebotta@chaffey.edu

 

Angela Cardinale
Office: LA-114
(909) 652-6937
angela.cardinale@chaffey.edu

 

Sean Connelly
Office: FNAC-214
(909) 652-7438
sean.connelly@chaffey.edu

 

Cathy Decker, Ph.D.
Office: BEB-217
(909) 652-6950
cathy.decker@chaffey.edu

 

Michelle Dowd
Office: CAA-355
(909) 652-6923
michelle.dowd@chaffey.edu

 

Leona Fisher
Office: BEB-215
(909) 652-6923
leona.fisher@chaffey.edu

 

Kim George
Office: LA-117
(909) 652-6929
kimberly.george@chaffey.edu

 

Deanna Hernandez
Office: FNFC-112
(909) 652-7458
deanna.hernandez@chaffey.edu

 

Deckard Hodge
Office: LA-125
(909) 652-6924
deckard.hodge@chaffey.edu

 

Ian Jones
Office: FNAC-218
(909) 652-7453
robert.jones@chaffey.edu

 

Daniel Keener
Office: LA-127
(909) 652-6943
daniel.keener@chaffey.edu

 

Bonnie Khaw-Posthuma, Ph.D.
office:BEB-224
(909) 652-6940
bonnie.khawposthuma@chaffey.edu

 

Robert Nazar
Office: CHMB-212
(909) 652-8013
robert.nazar@chaffey.edu

 

Melanie Olivera-LaVallee
Office: BEB-223
(909) 652-6917
melanie.olivera@chaffey.edu

 

Laura Picklesimer
Office: LA-116
(909) 652-6951
laura.picklesimer@chaffey.edu

 

Bonnie Spears
Office: BEB-214
(909) 652-6945
bonnie.spears@chaffey.edu

 

Sean Stratton
office: BEB-226
(909) 652-6920
sean.stratton@chaffey.edu

 

Victoria Tulacro
Office: LA-123
(909) 652-6944
victoria.tulacro@chaffey.edu

 

Melissa Utsler
Office: CHMB-216
(909) 652-8026
melissa.utsler@chaffey.edu

 

Neil Watkins, Ph.D.
Coordinator, Office: LA-112
(909) 652-6952
neil.watkins@chaffey.edu

 

Judith Weingartner
Office: CHMB-229
(909) 652-8019
judith.weingartner@chaffey.edu

 

Charles Williams
office: LA-119
(909) 652-6953
charles.williams@chaffey.edu

 

 Part-time Faculty

First name Last name Phone Email
Jeremy Abad (909) 652-7077 jeremy.abad@chaffey.edu
Valerie Abundis (909) 652-7223 valerie.abundis@chaffey.edu
Kristine Beach (909) 652-7023 kristine.beach@chaffey.edu
Joanna Branson (909) 652-7281 joanna.branson@chaffey.edu
Bryanna Bynum (909) 652-7525 bryanna.bynum@chaffey.edu
Steven Camacho (909) 652-7040 steven.camacho@chaffey.edu
Chance Castro (909) 652-7295 chance.castro@chaffey.edu
Joanne Chapman (909) 652-7192 joanne.chapman@chaffey.edu
Denisa Chatman-Riley (909) 652-7275 denisa.chatman-riley@chaffey.edu
Rita Coronado (909) 652-7870 rita.coronado@chaffey.edu
Christopher Cotton (909) 652-7076 christopher.cotton@chaffey.edu
Randee Cowles (909) 652-7080 randee.cowles@chaffey.edu
Brandon Daily (909) 652-7262 brandon.daily@chaffey.edu
Denise DeEspinosa (909) 652-7167 denise.deespinosa@chaffey.edu
Michael DeStefano (909) 652-7250 michael.destefano@chaffey.edu
Rebecca Ebert (909) 652-7136 rebecca.ebert@chaffey.edu
David Estrada (909) 652-7846 david.estrada@chaffey.edu
Jacquelyn Ford (909) 652-7005 jacquelyn.ford@chaffey.edu
Michael French (909) 652-7784 michael.french@chaffey.edu
Colin Gibson (909) 652-7211 colin.gibson@chaffey.edu
David Godoy (909) 652-7837 david.godoy@chaffey.edu
Carly Gomez (909) 652-7535 carly.gomez@chaffey.edu
Michael Gonzalez (909) 652-7531 michael.gonzalez@chaffey.edu
Natasha Gossett (909) 652-7218 natasha.gossett@chaffey.edu
Herschel Greenberg (909) 652-7308 herschel.greenberg@chaffey.edu
Cynthia Hamlett (909) 652-7940 cynthia.hamlett@chaffey.edu
Shanyn Hanson (909) 652-7117 shanyn.hanson@chaffey.edu
Sarah Harano (909) 652-7084 sarah.harano@chaffey.edu
Jordan Hodges (909) 652-7532 jordan.hodges@chaffey.edu
Joseph Huver (909) 652-7958 joseph.huver@chaffey.edu
Jennifer Jared (909) 652-7102 jennifer.jared@chaffey.edu
Bolin Jue (909) 652-7122 bolin.jue@chaffey.edu
Kenneth Kusudo (909) 652-7801 kenneth.kusudo@chaffey.edu
Jorge Larios (909) 652-7139 jorge.larios@chaffey.edu
Esther Leano (909) 652-7113 esther.leano@chaffey.edu
Jade Lehar (909) 652-7916 jade.lehar@chaffey.edu
Matthew Lopez (909) 652-7344 matthew.lopez@chaffey.edu
Josephine Lowe (909) 652-7062 josephine.lowe@chaffey.edu
Kelley Lyons (909) 652-7941 kelley.lyons@chaffey.edu
Analia Marinelli (909) 652-7912 analia.marinelli@chaffey.edu
Allison Mark (909) 652-7349 allison.mark@chaffey.edu
Rachel Meenan (909) 652-7155 rachel.meenan@chaffey.edu
Michelle Mermilliod (909) 652-7918 michelle.mermilliod@chaffey.edu
Veronica Miranda (909) 652-7177 veronica.miranda@chaffey.edu
Zeanissia Moore (909) 652-7230 zeanissia.moore@chaffey.edu
Grace Nambela (909) 652-7554 grace.nambela@chaffey.edu
Grant Palmer (909) 652-7394 grant.palmer@chaffey.edu
Zainab Parekh (909) 652-7930 zainab.parekh@chaffey.edu
Samantha Pedersen (909) 652-7110 samantha.pedersen@chaffey.edu
Elizabeth Polson (909) 652-7143 elizabeth.polson@chaffey.edu
Phil Quaranta (909) 652-7327 phil.quaranta@chaffey.edu
Sefferino Ramos (909) 652-7315 sefferino.ramos@chaffey.edu
Alfredo Raygoza (909) 652-7714 alfredo.raygoza@chaffey.edu
Shirley Regis (909) 652-7345 shirley.regis@chaffey.edu
David Richards (909) 652-7220 david.richards@chaffey.edu
Natalie Richards (909) 652-7215 natalie.richards@chaffey.edu
Alicia Romero (909) 652-7150 alicia.romero@chaffey.edu
Andrew Sacks (909) 652-7354 andrew.sacks@chaffey.edu
Laura SantamariaEstrada (909) 652-7505 laura.santamariaestrada@chaffey.edu
Lelamay Seely (909) 652-7377 lelamay.seely@chaffey.edu
Christina Short (909) 652-7160 christina.short@chaffey.edu
Terry Steagall (909) 652-7541 terry.steagall@chaffey.edu
Scott Steffen (909) 652-7205 scott.steffen@chaffey.edu
Jessica Tancredi (909) 652-7266 jessica.tancredi@chaffey.edu
Alina Vanciu (909) 652-7279 alina.vanciu@chaffey.edu
Monique Vidales (909) 652-7282 monique.vidales@chaffey.edu
Webster Watnik (909) 652-7849 webster.watnik@chaffey.edu
Patricia Yee (909) 652-7104 patricia.yee@chaffey.edu