Hero image for
pattern placeholder

English as a Second Language

If you’re interested in learning how to read, write and speak English, Chaffey College’s English as a Second Language (ESL) program can help. Our program serves a wide variety of people including:

  • International students
  • People who have learned some English in another country and wish to continue learning here
  • People who have been living in the U.S. for decades and speak English, but want to improve their writing and speaking skills
  • People who want a job that requires stronger language skills
  • People who would like to take ESL as the first step in pursuit of a college degree or certificate

ESL Courses

ESL 475 (4 units)                                                                                                             Level 6  - Fundamentals of College Reading and Writing for ESL Students      Graded (graded course)

ESL  652                                                                                                                            Level 5 - English as a Second Language, V                                                              Graded (graded course)

ESL 642                                                                                                                             Level 4        English as a Second Language, IV                                                       Graded (graded course)

ESL  632                                                                                                                             Level 3        English as a Second Language, III

ESL  622                                                                                                                            Level 2        English as a Second Language, II

ESL  612                                                                                                                            Level 1        English as a Second Language, I

 

Electives

ESL 608      Pronunciation of American English

ESL 650      English and Citizenship

 

 

Contact

Language Arts

Phone: 909-652-6902

 

Faculty

Charmaine Phipps
909-652-6915
charmaine.phipps@chaffey.edu

Kyle Pennett
909-652-7427
kyle.pennett@chaffey.edu

  

Part-time faculty

Linda Abidin
909-652-7971
linda.abidin@chaffey.edu

Corinne Barley
909-652-7366
corinne.barley@chaffey.edu

Brittany Cortez
909-652-7093
brittany.cortez@chaffey.edu

Douglas Evans
909-652-7391
douglas.evans@chaffey.edu

Cristina Fucaloro
909-652-7708
cristina.fucaloro@chaffey.edu

Sarah Moussavi
909-652-7021
sarah.moussavi@chaffey.edu

Svetlana Murphy
909-652-7026
svetlana.murphy@chaffey.edu

Benjamin Quinones
909-652-7050
benjamin.quinones@chaffey.edu

David Saline
909-652-7832
david.saline@chaffey.edu

Ken Szok
909-652-7038
ken.szok@chaffey.edu

David Tougas
909-652-7543
david.tougas@chaffey.edu

Lynette Tougas
909-652-7172
lynette.tougas@chaffey.edu