Hero image for Students in a communication studies class at the Chaffey College Fontana campus work in groups.
Students in a communication studies class at the Chaffey College Fontana campus work in groups.
pattern placeholder

Communication Studies

If you’re looking for a major that can prepare you for a career in broadcast journalism, teaching, public relations, government, law and much more, try communication studies. It’s a versatile major that provides a highly sought-after skillset. In fact, the National Association of Colleges and Employers in its 2018 survey ranked communication skills as the top attribute employers seek on a resume.

 

Contact

Jo Alvarez, Ph.D
Instructor Communication Studies
(909) 652-6961
jo.alvarez@chaffey.edu

 

Brent Bracamontes
Instructor Communication Studies
(909) 652-6912
brent.bracamontes@chaffey.edu

 

Carmen Navarro
Instructor Communication Studies
(909) 652-6939
carmen.navarro@chaffey.edu

 

Ava Nguyen
Instructor Communication Studies
(909) 652-7457
ava.nguyen@chaffey.edu

 

Laurie Pratt
Instructor Communication Studies
(909) 652-8024
laurie.pratt@chaffey.edu

 

Eva Rose
Instructor Communication Studies
(909) 652-6962
eva.rose@chaffey.edu

 

Steve Shelton
Coordinator / Instructor Communication Studies
(909) 652-6948
stephen.shelton@chaffey.edu

 

Carrie Veazey
Instructor Communication Studies
(909) 652-7449
carrie.veazey@chaffey.edu

 

 

Curriculum

 

Curriculum for the Associate of Arts for Transfer in Communication Studies provides students with fundamental understanding and knowledge of the functions of communication in daily life and in the fabric of society. Core courses give students the background needed to explore numerous fields in depth such as public and mass communication, leadership and group communication, intercultural communication and interpersonal/gender communication.