Hero image for The Chaffey College marquee
The Chaffey College marquee
pattern placeholder

Geology

Would you like to work with minerals, water or energy? Do natural hazards such as earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, floods or landslides interest you? These are just some of the areas that someone with education and training in geology can have a career focus. In geology, we’ll prepare you by teaching you about the Earth, its history and the environment. You’ll have the opportunity to identify minerals, rocks and fossils, topographic and geologic map exercises demonstrating the work of water, wind, ice and gravity and the effects of tectonic activity in lab. Classes will prepare you for transfer to a 4-year college or university to earn an advanced degree in geology or a related science.

Contact

Faculty

Name Phone Email Address
Anna Foutz 909-652-7447 anna.foutz@chaffey.edu
Jane Warger 909-652-6485 jane.warger@chaffey.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Name Phone Email Address
Angela Aranda 909-652-7539 angela.aranda@chaffey.edu
Thomas Castiglione 909-652-7055 thomas.castiglione@chaffey.edu
Amgad Ellaboudy 909-652-7530 amgad.ellaboudy@chaffey.edu
Mary Freeman 909-652-7125 mary.freeman@chaffey.edu
Jeffrey Johnston 909-652-7198 jeffrey.johnston@chaffey.edu
John Maas 909-652-7044 john.maas@chaffey.edu
Douglas Neves 909-652-7254 douglas.neves@chaffey.edu
Mussie Okbamichael 909-652-7963 mussie.okbamichael@chaffey.edu
Diana Pomeroy 909-652-7091 diana.pomeroy@chaffey.edu
Benjamin Scherzer 909-652-7261 benjamin.scherzer@chaffey.edu
Ryan Woolford 909-652-7746 ryan.woolford@chaffey.edu

 

Associate of Science for Transfer in Geology

To obtain the Geology AS-T degree, students must:

  • Complete all the major requirements listed below with grades of C or better.
  • Complete a minimum of 60 CSU-transferable units listed with a grade point average (GPA) of 2.0 or better.
  • Complete either the California State University General Education Breadth pattern (CSU GE), or the Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC).

 

Curriculum

1 Physical Geology (4) 
(CSU; UC) 
Hours: 48-54 lecture; 48-54 laboratory. 
Grading: Letter grade only. 
Introduction to the principles of geology with emphasis on Earth processes. Course focuses on the internal structure and origin of the Earth and the processes that change and shape it. The laboratory component focuses on the identification of rocks and minerals, topographic and geologic map exercises demonstrating the work of water, wind, ice and gravity and the effects of tectonic activity.

2 Historical Geology (4) 
(CSU; UC) 
Hours: 48-54 lecture; 48-54 laboratory. 
Grading: Letter grade only. Advisory: Completion of Geology 1. 
History of the earth and the evolution of life forms including dinosaurs. Formation of the earth, plate tectonics, ancient environments recorded in sedimentary rocks, and evolution of life as reflected in the fossil record.