Hero image for A professor holds up a DNA strand model during a biology class.
A professor holds up a DNA strand model during a biology class.

Biology

The life sciences can prepare you for a wide variety of career possibilities, and Chaffey College’s biology department can get you ready with incredible hands-on learning experiences in the lab and in the field!
• From introducing students to the science of life via our general education courses, where students engage in scientific inquiry, gain understanding of the value of science and critical thinking, and prepare for transfer,
• to preparing students for further education in nursing and allied health (kinesiology, public health, and others) with human anatomy, physiology, and microbiology, and
• laying the groundwork for students majoring in biology and related sciences such as environmental science.
Our biology program supports a diversity of specialties from cell and molecular biology, to pre-professional careers (such as medicine). We have an incredible diversity of resources and collections to enhance students’ experiential learning, from extraordinary zoological, botanical, and human anatomy collections, to outdoor resources such as a dedicated nature preserve, native plant garden, and a colony of increasingly rare burrowing owls. Students are supported in beginning to explore biology research here, and continue in various summer internships, and research opportunities at 4-year institutions. The biology department is dedicated to highlighting the value of diverse perspectives to the advancement of scientific thought, and actively cultivates collaboration and inclusivity in our educational practice. Prospective students are always welcome to visit our facilities to see for themselves the wonderful resources available in biology at Chaffey College.

Explore Your Programs Degree/Certificate Options

Biology AS for Transfer Program Map

 

Contact

Faculty

Angela Burk-Herrick
Professor, Curriculum Chair, Guided Pathways Facilitator
angela.burkherrick@chaffey.edu
Sandra Collins
Professor, Biology Coordinator
sandra.collins@chaffey.edu
Diana Cosand
Professor
diana.cosand@chaffey.edu
Sarah Cotton
Professor
sarah.cotton@chaffey.edu
Sonia Diaz
Professor
sonia.diaz@chaffey.edu
Nicole DeRose
Professor
nicole.derose@chaffey.edu
Shannon Jessen
Professor, Distance Education Co-facilitator
shannon.jessen@chaffey.edu
Erik Kolb
Professor
erik.kolb@chaffey.edu

 

Support Staff

Isaac Garcia
Instructional Assistant (Fontana and Rancho Campus)
isaac.garcia@chaffey.edu
Sandra Lovos
Instructional Assistant (Rancho Campus)
sandra.lovos@chaffey.edu
Sira Palerm
Science Lab Technical Specialist/Lab Coordinator (Chino/ Fontana/ Rancho)
sira.palerm@chaffey.edu
Gabriel Salazar
Instructional Assistant (Chino Campus)
gabriel.salazar@chaffey.edu