Hero image for The Chaffey College marquee
The Chaffey College marquee
pattern placeholder

Earth Science

Pursue your interests in the Earth and environment through a degree in Earth science. This major, sometimes known as geology, can prepare you for careers in education, work that requires knowledge of the environment or people who wish to have a better understanding of the Earth. Earth science encompasses a wider range of scientific inquiry including oceanography, meteorology, planetology and soil sciences.

Contact

Faculty

Name Phone Email Address
Anna Foutz 909-652-7447 anna.foutz@chaffey.edu
Jane Warger 909-652-6485 jane.warger@chaffey.edu


Adjunct Faculty

Name Phone Email Address
Lisa Alpert 909-652-7944 lisa.alpert@chaffey.edu
Angela Aranda 909-652-7539 angela.aranda@chaffey.edu
Thomas Castiglione 909-652-7055 thomas.castiglione@chaffey.edu
Daniel Eastmond 909-652-8282 daniel.eastmond@chaffey.edu
Amgad Ellaboudy 909-652-7530 amgad.ellaboudy@chaffey.edu
Mary Freeman 909-652-7125 mary.freeman@chaffey.edu
Jeffrey Johnston 909-652-7198 jeffrey.johnston@chaffey.edu
Douglas Neves 909-652-7254 douglas.neves@chaffey.edu
Thomas Norton 909-652-8287 thomas.norton@chaffey.edu
Mussie Okbamichael 909-652-7963 mussie.okbamichael@chaffey.edu
Ebenezer (Kofi) Peprah 909-652-7153 ebenezer.peprah@chaffey.edu
Lisa Pitts 909-652-8285 lisa.pitts@chaffey.edu
Diana Pomeroy 909-652-7091 diana.pomeroy@chaffey.edu
Benjamin Scherzer 909-652-7261 benjamin.scherzer@chaffey.edu
Ryan Woolford 909-652-7746 ryan.woolford@chaffey.edu

 

Degrees and Certificates

Associate of Science in Earth Science

The curriculum is designed to provide the fundamental knowledge and skills to prepare students for transfer to a university as a junior. This is a 2-year program leading to an associate in science degree. Students following this program will be well suited to pursue an advanced degree in Earth science, environmental science, or any related science. This program is equally intended to assist those who wish to teach Earth science in elementary or secondary schools, those interested in understanding environmental issues, or those who desire an understanding of the Earth.

 

Earth Science Courses

1 Earth Science (3) 
(CSU; UC) 
Hours: 48-54 lecture. 
Grading: Letter grade only. 
Geology, oceanography, meteorology and planetology aspects of the physical environment. Designed for general education and earth science majors.

1L Earth Science Laboratory (1) 
(CSU; UC) 
Hours: 48-54 laboratory. 
Grading: Letter grade only.

Corequisite: Earth Science 1 (may be taken previously).

Optional laboratory for Earth science. Use of scientific tools and methods to image, measure and observe phenomenon in geology, oceanography, astronomy and meteorology.

5 Oceanography (3) 
(CSU; UC) 
Hours: 48-54 lecture. 
Grading: Letter grade only. 
Introduction to the marine sciences. Properties of water, air-sea interaction, ocean currents, waves, tides, beaches, marine life, marine resources, ocean pollution and the nature and origin of the sea floor.

5L Oceanography Laboratory (1) 
(CSU; UC) 
Hours: 48-54 laboratory. 
Grading: Letter grade only. 
Corequisite: Earth science 5 (may be taken previously). 
Use of the tools and methods of science to image, measure and observe phenomenon in oceanography.