Chaffey College Swears In Governing Board Members Gary Ovitt, Gloria Negrete-McLeod and Lee C. McDougal

April 17, 2024

Governing Board members

Three Chaffey Community College District Governing Board members were sworn in for four-year terms during the College’s monthly Governing Board meeting on April 11.

Gary Ovitt, serving as member, Immediate Past President Lee C. McDougal and Gloria Negrete-McLeod, clerk, retained their seats in the March 5 primary election. Ovitt and McLeod ran unopposed, while McDougal earned 60 percent of the vote.

“Our Governing Board will play a key role in positioning Chaffey College for success in the coming years,” said Chaffey College Superintendent/President Henry D. Shannon. “We are grateful to have such respected, talented and dedicated leaders fostering a brighter future for our region.”

Ovitt, who represents Ontario, has served on the board since 2015. He previously served on the San Bernardino County Board of Supervisors representing the Fourth District, served as Ontario mayor and councilman and taught social studies at Chaffey High School.

Negrete-McLeod, representing the Chino Valley, was first elected to the Chaffey Governing Board in 2015. She previously served in the California State Assembly, State Senate and the United States Congress.

McDougal, who has served on the Chaffey Governing Board since 2000, retired from the city of Montclair in 2010 after completing 35 years of service for the city, including 18 years as city manager. He earned two bachelor’s degrees from the University of California Riverside in urban studies and Black studies.