LGBTQIA+ Advocates Committee

Purpose: The LGBTQIA+ Advocates Committee advocates for a college-wide, coherent support of and resources for LGBTQIA+ students; advocates for and contributes to a climate of inclusion for members of the LGBTQIA+ faculty, staff, and administrators at Chaffey College; and collaborates with the various groups on campus who share the mission to create a more equitable environment for the Chaffey College community.

Scope:This committee is open to all faculty, staff, and administrators, as well as select students. The committee will:

  • Embrace, celebrate, and uplift the personhood of students, staff, faculty, and administrators who are LGBTQIA+ 
  • Advocate for equitable access to resources (including but not limited to physical spaces, physical resources, digital resources, campus support staff/ resources) that help promote/ support the physical, mental/ psychological, social, and academic well-being of LGBTQIA+ students, staff, faculty and administrators at Chaffey College.
  • Conspire with other campus groups to improve access, success, retention,  and persistence for historically marginalized student identities; foster a climate of inclusion at Chaffey College; and advocate for the needs of all historically underserved students in campus planning and policy making. 
  • Collaborate with the Lavender Coalition, Special Populations/ Equity & the Equity Coalition, the CCSJ, Academic and Classified Senate, CCSG, PEC, FSC, CPC, the Wignall Museum of Contemporary Art, the Student Health Center, Faculty Advising, Success Centers, The Transfer & Career Center, Bloom, the Foundation Office, and other campus departments, offices, resources or programs. 
  • Unite Chaffey with local colleges, outside agencies, and advocacy groups.


Reports To: Director of Student Equity and Engagement (or designee)

Terms of Office: Two years

Chairperson: Tri Chairs: Kimberly George, Faculty; Mark Vidal, Management; Kelly Kindred, Classified

Members: Victoria Tulacro; Sarah Chamberlain; Elizabeth Encarnacion; Laura Picklesimer; Melissa Utsler; Jamie Greuel; Kelly Kindred; Hannah Lucas; Roman Stollenwerk; Robin Witt; RoseAnn Osmanian; Jack Tropp; Sheila Malone; Louisa Villeneuve; Jennifer Renteria

Meeting Days and Time: Last Thursday of each month, 12:45 - 2:00pm, Location: BEB-204