CHAFFEY COLLEGE CURRICULUM COMMITTEE MEETING SUMMARY NOTES

February 8, 2023

1:30pm-3:00pm

RANCHO CAMPUS, BEB-204

CHINO CAMPUS CONFERENCE ROOM, CHCM-201 FONTANA CAMPUS OFFICE, FNLC 116

FONTANA CAMPUS CONFERENCE ROOM, FNAC-119 FONTANA IN-TECH CENTER, Classroom 3 or Electrical Lab 2

RANCHO SAN ANTONIO MEDICAL PLAZA, RSA-7

Members Present:

Adeel Rizvi, Health Sciences Angela Burk-Herrick, Curriculum Chairperson Annette Henry, Kinesiology, Nutrition and Athletics Carol Hutte, Library Learning Resources Chingping (Grace) Wong, Hospitality, Fashion, Interior & Culinary Arts

Christina Holdiness, Instructional Support Jo Alvarez, PSR Representative

Joan Godinez, Counseling/Matriculation Joann Eisberg, Mathematics and Science

Jonathan Polidano, CTE Liaison Julie Law, Articulation Officer

Members Absent:

Alisha Serrano, Director Admissions and Records Candice Hines-Tinsley, Kinesiology, Nutrition and Athletics Christina McPeck, Social and Behavioral Sciences Maryline Chemama, Mathematics and Science Neil Watkins, Academic Senate President Julie Leahy, Health Sciences

Kathy Galipeau, Hospitality, Fashion, Interior & Culinary

Arts

Laura Picklesimer, SLO Facilitator

Markazan Romero, Business and Applied Technology

Michael Wangler, Mathematics and Science Nicole Farrand, Visual and Performing Arts Paula Snyder, Social and Behavioral Sciences Ryan Sipma, Catalog/Schedule Coordinator

Sharon Alton, Language Arts

Shireen Awad, Curriculum Specialist Stephen Calebotta, Language Arts

Patricia Bopko, Director of Financial Aid Rob Rundquist, CIO Designee Rousselle Douge, Student Representative RuthAnn Valencia, Director of Transfer Center Tracy Kocher, Business and Applied Technology

Guests:

Janeth Rodriguez, Admissions and Records

- 1. Call to Order/Roll Call: The meeting was called to order at 1:32p.m.
- 2. Public Comment (Reserved for guests to address any item on the agenda for a limit of two minutes): None.
- 3. Review and Approval of January 25, 2023 Expanded Summary Notes: The summary notes were approved 11/0/2.
- 4. Curriculum Office Reports
 - **4.1.** Curriculum Chair: The Chair shared that the February 22, 2023 Curriculum Committee meeting will be cancelled.
 - **4.2.** Curriculum Specialist: The Specialist shared that the following terms will end this academic year, leaving one vacancy per school. The nomination and election process running this spring will be for the 2023-2025 term. Below is the list of terms ending this year. The Chair will send out the nomination forms to faculty which will be due March 10, 2023. If more than one nomination is given for a school, elections will take place the week after spring break.

Area of Representation	Representative	Email (@chaffey.edu)	Term of Office
Hospitality, Fashion, Interior & Culinary Arts	Kathy Galipeau	kathy.galipeau	2021-2023

Health Sciences	Julie Leahy	y julie.leahy	
Instructional Support	Christina Holdiness	christina.holdiness	2021-2023
Kinesiology, Nutrition and Athletics	Annette Henry	annette.henry	2021-2023
Language Arts	Stephen Calebotta	stephen.calebotta	2021-2023
Mathematics and Science	Maryline Chemama	maryline.chemama	2021-2023
Social and Behavioral Sciences	Christina McPeck	christina.mcpeck	2021-2023
Counseling/Matriculation	Kirk Collins	kirk.collins	2021-2023
Visual and Performing Arts	Nicole Farrand	nicole.farrand	2021-2023
Business and Applied Technology	Markazan Romero	markazan.romero	2022-2023

4.3. Catalog and Schedule Coordinator: None.

4.4. Articulation Officer (AO): None.

4.5. Chief Instructional Officer (CIO)/Designee of CIO: None.

4.6. Academic Senate President: None.

- 5. Workgroup Updates: The Chair shared that she and the Curriculum Specialist are working through the META Workgroup's feedback. They will report what changes were made and which were not, as well as why those decisions were made.
- 6. Consent Agenda: None.
- 7. Curriculum Proposals:

Program Deactivations:

Aviation Maintenance	AS	Approval: 14/0/0
Technology:		
Powerplant		
Aviation Maintenance	Certificate of	Approval: 14/0/0
Technology:	Achievement	
Powerplant		

New Courses w/ DE: This course will be scheduled at the Intech center which mainly holds not-for-credit courses. This course serves as a bridge for those students in not-for-credit courses to noncredit courses and possibly credit courses in the future. This will also provide Intech students a Chaffey Student ID card and an opportunity to receive services at the college.

EMP-611	Essential Workplace Skills	Approval: Distance Education	
		16/0/0	Fully Online and
			Hybrid: 16/0/0

8. Discussion/Action Items: None.

9. Next Agenda Forecast: None.

- **10. Floor Items:** (Reserved to raise concerns and/or future items to discuss within the <u>Curriculum Committee Scope</u>. Committee members may also use floor items to share committee work and departmental/institutional updates as it relates to the Committee's work. Concerns and/or items to discuss may appear on a future agenda).
 - 10.1. DEIA Statement Purpose and Function for future proposals and DEIA Best Practices List
 - 10.2. Credit for Prior Learning Presentation

- 10.3. DE Addendum Committee Review
- **10.4.** Curriculum Committee recommendations for processes outside of curriculum review:
 - 1. Access to changes to CORs especially with DEI.
 - 2. Unpacking the COR Workshop modeled after the English Department's DEIA work.
 - 3. Institutional support in financing resources to ensure DEI is being incorporated in the classroom based upon the changes made in CORs.
 - 4. Coordinator training on the CORS
 - How to send the CORs?
 - How to access CORs?
 - 5. Curriculum Committee hosted professional development (FLEX or workshops)
 - Asynchronous?
 - How to Read a COR?
- 10.5. Dual Enrollment Presentation
- 10.6. Updates on the current academic map revisits
- 11. Adjournment: The meeting was adjourned at 2:08p.m.

	1	I	1	1
Name	ATTENDANCE	M: Approval of Summary Notes 1-25-2023 1st; Joann Eisberg 2nd: Christina Holdiness	M: Approval of AMT Program Deactivations 1st; Julie Law 2nd; Annette Henry	M: Approval of EMP-611 1 ⁸ : Joann Eisberg 2 nd : Annette Henry
Adeel Rizvi	Х	Х	Х	Х
Annette Henry	Χ		Χ	Х
Candice Hines- Tinsley				
Carol Hutte	Χ	Х	Х	Х
Christina Holdiness	Х	Х	Х	Х
Christina McPeck				
Grace Wong	Х			Х
Joan Godinez	Χ	Х	Χ	Χ
Joann Eisberg	Χ	Α	Χ	Х
Julie Law	Х	Α	Х	Х
Julie Leahy	Х	Х	Х	Х
Kathy Galipeau	Х			Х
Markazan Romero	Χ	Х	Х	Х
Maryline				
Chemama Michael Wangler	Х			
Nicole Farrand	X	X	X	X
Paula Snyder	X	X	X	X
Rob Rundquist (as CIO Designee)		,,	, ,	, ,
Ryan Sipma	Х	Х	Х	Х
Sharon Alton	Х	X	X	X
Stephen Calebotta	Х	X	X	X
Tracy Kocher				
TOTAL COUNTS	17	13	14	16

Quorum= 22/2=11+1=12

Non-Voting		
Alisha Serrano		
Angela Burk-Herrick	Χ	
Jo Alvarez	Χ	
Jonathan Polidano	Χ	
Laura Picklesimer	Χ	
Neil Watkins		
Patricia Bopko		
Rousselle Douge		
RuthAnn Valencia		
Shireen Awad	Х	